The Update

I’ve been asked a few times lately if I’m still blogging. Clearly I haven’t been, but I still want to. So here we are over three months since my last post. It’s not that we haven’t been busy. It’s that we haven’t done anything that I think you’d want to read about. Here’s the “short” version of what we’ve been up to…

*The House – We closed on the house in the end of October. It wasn’t fun. I managed to get through to close without punching anyone in the face, even though in that hour my religion was insulted, I got yelled at for initializing where I should have checked, and the sellers’ grandson practically cried that he didn’t want to move. The first thing we did after the close was head to Lowe’s and buy new locks. Then we went to the house and installed the locks. Then I promptly locked the keys inside the house. Somehow, Mr. Wonderful didn’t murder me.

*The Move – We moved the last weekend in October. It snowed. The first truckload had the love seat and a few other boxes. It took Mr. Wonderful and my Dad FOREVER to come back to the condo after bringing it over. “There’s bad news,” Mr. Wonderful tells me as they get back. “The love seat doesn’t fit.” It got in the house but couldn’t get passed the kitchen. We have a 26″ doorway and a 32″ love seat. They tried it every which way. Then Mr. Wonderful’s Dad came over and tried it every which way. Then his brother came over and tried it every which way. In then end, I had a love seat in my kitchen for a week. Then I had a hole in the dining room where they enlarged the doorway for about 6 weeks. We’re still painting and figuring out where everything goes. We’re also doing laundry at my Mom’s because our dryer that we ordered on November 18th isn’t in yet. Home ownership is a pain in the butt.

*Landlord City – We’re renting the condo. To a 23-year-old girl with a neck tattoo. She must be in some sort of Converse Chucks gang. First she wanted to adopt kittens. That stinks for me but I didn’t say no. Then she gave the kittens back and now she wants a dog. The latest is that she wants to become a foster parent. “I want a cat, just kidding, dog, just kidding, baby.” But she pays her rent on time, so we’re good.

*The Broken Hand – Turns out, Mr. Wonderful has a little anger management problem when it comes to heated dodgeball games and, well, when you punch a door, the door always wins. He spent all of December in a cast to his forearm. I discovered that his coworkers now call him “Rage Machine.” So at least we’re all making fun of him. One of his a-hole coworkers (who got herself fired for something else, but that’s another story) signed his fingers. As if his having a cast wasn’t bad enough. I cheered a little when they cut right through her name to get the cast off.

*Raleigh, NC – We just came back from a long weekend in Raleigh for Mr. Wonderful’s birthday. There was beer, more beer, a Bruins loss to the Hurricanes (of course), an outdoor flea market, wine and barbeque. All in all, it was a great weekend away. Between the holidays and the house, we really needed a change of scenery.

So that’s about it. It’s really been a blur. We’re so close to having an actual downstairs that we can maneuver around in. I hope things get better from there. I’ll let you know.

About Tara Salvi

I'm a 30 year old woman living and working in the 'burbs.
This entry was posted in Where It's At. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

