Let’s Go B’s

Our Hockey Bracket

Here at the Salvi house, there’s just about one sport that matters. Sure, Mr. Wonderful watches the Patriots. I re-upped his XBox Live subscription so that I could watch PC Basketball games on ESPN 3. We’ve been known to attend a few UMass Lowell hockey games, especially since the Lowell Devils became the Albany River Rats, leaving us with no local AHL team. But all of that takes a back seat to the good old Black and Gold. Since the Bruins started their unbelievable run to the Stanley Cup finals, we’ve focused on little else.

True sports fans, I’ve learned, are very superstitious. The Bruins seem to do better when I don’t watch. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve come home or turned the game on to see the other team score. It’s pretty sad. So sometimes I specifically don’t watch. You know why Mr. Wonderful and I didn’t get tickets to any of the play off games? Because the Bruins are 0-6 when the Salvis are in the house. That was over two seasons and one of those games was the NJ Devils. We had to watch Game 5 at Murphy’s Tap Room because that’s where Mr. Wonderful’s dodgeball team watched Game 3 when they won. The explanation for Game 5’s loss? We weren’t sitting in the same room.

That’s not even the worst of it. Every night I get to come home to this:

I’m a lucky girl, I’ll tell you. Mr. Wonderful hasn’t shaved since April 10th when the hockey season ended. Just last week, he realized that he can twist his mustache into handlebars. All I can say is, “Better this year than last year.” (We watched the Stanley Cup Finals from our honeymoon. There was no way I was marrying that beard…)

There’s also this:

This is where Mr. Wonderful frustratedly took off his game jersey after Game 2 of the Montreal series, when the B’s were 0-2. He forgot to wear Bruins gear during Game 3, and they won. He hasn’t worn anything Bruins since then. And he won’t let me move the jersey. It’s been living on the arm of our loveseat since mid-April. We’ve even had friends over who have sat in the loveseat and been afraid to jostle the jersey.

In all seriousness, it’s been really fun watching the Bruins go for the Cup. I can’t wait to see Zdeno Chara hoist the Cup on Wednesday night. Even though I’ll probably have to catch it on the highlight reel.

About Tara Salvi

I'm a 30 year old woman living and working in the 'burbs.
This entry was posted in Where It's At and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment