Happy Mother’s Day

We Contes cheated and celebrated Mother’s Day last weekend. It worked out better for my Albany-based brother and sister-in-law to come up that weekend. It was really nice to listen to all the Mother’s Day commercials and know that I was D.O.N.E. done with my Mother’s Day planning. I don’t know what my mother would say, but I would say that this was one of the better Mother’s Days we’ve ever had.

My brother, John, and I made Mother’s Day dinner. I’m not really sure if John and I have ever cooked a meal from start to finish together. It was definitely a fun experience. We made Rachel Ray’s Rosemary Chicken Breasts, Brown Butter and Balsamic Ravioli, Warm Spinach Salad with Pancetta and Sweet Vinaigrette. Nothing but the best for our Mom! John’s wife, Wendy, helped us prep and Mr. Wonderful’s job was to keep Mom out of the kitchen.

We pulled out all the stops. John learned about shallots and pancetta. It was an intense recipe, making all three pieces and getting them to come out together. Mom’s kitchen is only so big too and Lord knows there aren’t always three chefs in there. I read somewhere that rosemary helps protect the brain from Alzheimer’s, which is unfortunately something I’m concerned about, so I like to cook with it when I can. My parents don’t have the most sophisticated palates either. Rachel didn’t lead us astray though. Everything was delicious! I held my breath when my Dad (our biggest critic) took his first bite. Luckily we got great reviews!

When it comes down to it, I have an awesome family. My mother will literally do anything for anyone. Yeah, she would have made us an equally delicious meal with whatever fixings we’d like and have been perfectly happy. (Hence why Mr. Wonderful had to distract her.) While I don’t think she’s entirely comfortable sitting back and relaxing while someone does something for her, I think she got a kick out of the two of us actually being able to produce a full meal, with only one element coming from the freezer. Either John or I could have done this recipe on our own (once John Googled shallots and pancetta…) but that wouldn’t have been as much fun as our experience together. We even got my Dad to do the dishes! I don’t know how we’re ever going to top last week. We have 52 weeks to plan!

(Also, huge thanks goes out to Wendy for photo-documenting this event!)

About Tara Salvi

I'm a 30 year old woman living and working in the 'burbs.
This entry was posted in Culinary School Graduate, Where It's At and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

