A New Beginning

I haven’t really been talking about it, but I got a new job last week. This being not a necessarily anonymous blog, I haven’t really been comfortable talking about the details.

Where I’ve only been at the new job for 5 days, I can’t really tell exactly how awesome it’s going to be. For starters, it only takes me a half hour to get there. It doesn’t get much better than that. I’ve made it a full commute without hearing a single song on the radio (too many commercials). I also leave my house at 8am, an hour and a half later than I did in my previous life.

Also, the people are awesome. Exhibit A – This was waiting for me in my cube on my first day:

When have you ever seen such a warm welcome? I never have. This is also the first time that anyone I’d interviewed with emailed me to say congratulations when I accepted an offer. Everyone has been so nice to me.

It’s actually kind of like a real-life Dunder Mifflin, but without the incompetency. One of the first emails I got was reminding everyone to sign Gail’s birthday card. Everyone signs your birthday card? There’s no cake, which is unfortunate, but understandable since there’s 30 of us. Our Admin, who seems to be the perfect Admin, is also an expert baker. In the five days that I’ve been there, she’s brought in three different kinds of breads for a staff meeting, Mexican wedding cookies, and brownies with mocha frosting. We had a welcome breakfast for me and the new controller today. It involved another three different breads and two different breakfast casseroles (with and without peppers). Unbelievable. She’s also only the second person who noticed that my hair is red now.

So far, the company is doing some pretty cool things for its employees. Instead of making me sit through an all day orientation, they do it in one hour chunks. There are about 15 of them I think, on things like their products, competitive landscape, vision, history, etc. I got a welcome package that included the WSJ article Leading from Below. They want me to read up on how to foster change from any place on the totem pole. They also assigned me an Ambassador, someone outside of my department who will show me around and answer my questions without worry about politics. They even managed to assign me someone who went to Providence College like I did. I just can’t believe that I’m working with the kind of company I’d read about in grad school.

I know I’m in the honeymoon phase. I’m sure they have their share of quirks and weirdos and crappy situations. Every place does. But I think the perks are going to make up for those things. So far so good!

About Tara Salvi

I'm a 30 year old woman living and working in the 'burbs.
This entry was posted in Working Girl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Beginning

  1. Umm, did you get a job in heaven? Well, my friend, congratulations. I am very happy for you and wish you all the success in the world.

    Deb

    P.S. I wouldn’t mind some bread or cake from the Admin Angel. LOL

Leave a Reply

