This Post Brought to You by Kelocity and Kraft

Last month, Kelley over at Kelocity.com won a dinner party to sample Kraft’s new Philadelphia Cooking Crème. They sent her a pretty sweet package and she decided to pay it forward by sending two of her faithful readers a goody bag. I was so excited that I was one of them. In return, I promised her I would try out the Creamy Chicken Pasta with Broccoli Rabe.

The package came two weeks ago. Kelley does not mess around. In addition to some Philadelphia Cooking Crème swag, she added some treats from Trader Joe’s. I somehow didn’t tear into the candy immediately. It was easily the best piece of mail I’ve received since my wedding video! Thanks Kelley!

My favorite thing to order at an Italian restaurant is the orecchiette with sausage and broccoli rabe. It’s one of those things that I like to eat but can’t have at home. Despite being a culinary school graduate, I have no idea how to prepare broccoli rabe. Here’s the problem: When you buy broccoli rabe at the store, it looks like this:

I am pretty sure, although not positive, that the leave aren’t edible. So when you’re done picking out the florets, you’re left with this:

A bit wasteful, no? I then trimmed the stems off and was left with so little broccoli rabe that it all fit in a sandwich bag.

This recipe is pretty simple. I actually made the variation with sausage links instead of chicken. I also used Ronzoni Healthy Harvest Rotini rather than the suggested Campanelle because that’s what I had in the house. I know I’m in the minority, but I am starting to prefer whole grain pasta to regular pasta. Anyway, you basically cook the pasta, throw the broccoli rabe in when there’s three minutes left on the timer, meanwhile cook the sausage in a skillet with a little bit of garlic, drain the pasta/broccoli when it’s done cooking, throw the sausage in the pasta pot and stir in the Philadelphia Cooking Crème. Honestly, it was more complicated for me to find the Italian Herb Cooking Crème than it was for me to make this recipe. (Three grocery stores, thankyouverymuch.) It’s a great weeknight recipe.

We ended up with this:

Mr. Wonderful thought it was pretty good. I liked it, but there was something in the spices that I found overbearing, maybe even a little sweet. Also, the Cooking Crème isn’t particularly healthy. One serving is 190 calories and 9 grams of fat, 5 of them saturated. That is half of my saturated fat requirement for the day. I didn’t help matters by cooking with sausage instead of chicken. It’s not terrible, especially when you consider the time trade-off, but it’s not something that we’re going to have all the time. We actually still have half of the container left, so there’s at least one more recipe in us. I think it’s going to be the Creamy Italian Chicken & Orzo Skillet. I’ll keep you posted.

About Tara Salvi

I'm a 30 year old woman living and working in the 'burbs.
This entry was posted in Culinary School Graduate and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Post Brought to You by Kelocity and Kraft

  1. Kelley says:

    YAY! Glad you liked the package! Yea, not the healthiest option, but that looks really good! I haven’t tried the Italian Herb, I think we used Original and the Garlic one. Cute post!

Leave a Reply

