A Note from my Boss…

I get to work this morning (late, but whatever) and I find this email train forwarded from my boss:

From: Boss
To: Not Me

How many ftes do we have for the above dept?

From: Not Me
To: Boss

17.7

From: Boss
To: Me

Please let me know how much and fte was budgeted for this in fy11.

(Ignore the confusing grammar. I have a Boss-to-English translator for such occasions.)

In case you were wondering, 17.70 FTEs were budgeted. You know, like the first person answered. She could have either asked me or trusted the person she asked in the first place. If she didn’t trust the first person (who, by the way, manages the department in question), she should have just asked me in the first place. Not that I’m an expert, but I have access to the systems. Now that I think about it, my boss also has access to the systems. I know this because she sat next to me in training. But she’s right. It’s way better to ask two different people for the same data than to do it yourself. It took me longer to read and translate the email than it did for me to find the data. I would hate to see her trouble herself with such details.

About Tara Salvi

I'm a 30 year old woman living and working in the 'burbs.
This entry was posted in Working Girl. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

