Brown Baggin’ It

Source: Food Network

Brown Bag ChallengeWe’re teaming up with fellow food bloggers to host a Brown-Bag Challenge, a month-long initiative to eat consciously and save money by packing a lunch each weekday instead of eating out. Join us here and share what you’re eating on Facebook and Twitter with the hashtag #brownbag.

Ever since I started my new job, I’ve been going out for lunch almost every day. In my past life, I used to bring my lunch almost every day, but I was sick of ending up with things looking like this. A girl can only eat so many reheated sodium nuggets. When I changed jobs, I started eating lunch at the local restaurants. I even found an awesome salad bar, which has quickly become my go-to lunch choice. Salads have been easy because I need to eat two cups of veggies at lunch anyway, but it’s been wearing on me. When I saw Healthy Eats’ Brown Bag Challenge advertised on Twitter, I knew that was my chance to break the cycle. The challenge is to not go out to eat during the workweek throughout the month of September. For me, this means coming up with healthy balanced lunches for the duration of the month.

September 1st was easy. I just brought my leftover steak from Wednesday night’s dinner at Crave. Since all I brought home was the steak, I threw in some broccoli florets and called it a lunch. I shocked my boss when he came into the kitchen and saw me standing at the microwave, since I never bring my lunch. A few minutes in the microwave and I was good to go. I was also hungry in about 45 minutes, but that’s neither here nor there. On Friday, I brought spinach pie from the grocery store, bought specifically for this occasion.

The hard part about Friday was not actually bringing my lunch. The hard part was resisting the peer pressure to go out to lunch. I’m always the one trying to convince people to go out to lunch on Fridays. It just seems like the right thing to do. You go out, get a delicious lunch and coast through the afternoon. One of my coworkers always tries to resist. So this Friday, when both my boss and my coworker are standing at my cube, they were floored to find that I stuck to my guns about my resolution to bring my lunch. There was about a minute where I thought I was going to cave. They took the opportunity to go to a restaurant I don’t particularly care for, which made me feel better about the whole thing.

Right now, I’ve got Garden Delight pasta and grilled chicken waiting for me in the fridge. I figured that’s probably a serving of veggies with the pasta and sauce. I just need to remember to bring it with me!

About Tara Salvi

I'm a 30 year old woman living and working in the 'burbs.
This entry was posted in Where It's At, Working Girl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Brown Baggin’ It

  1. jeff says:

    You can do it! I brought chicken fried rice today. Take your food and go outside and read.

  2. Pingback: Brown Bag Challenge – Grape Tomato Parmesan Salad | Mooshu Jenne

  3. Pingback: Brown-Bag Challenge: Week One Round-Up | Healthy Eats – Food Network Healthy Living Blog

  4. Pingback: Brown-Bag Challenge: Week One Round-Up | 2Well

  5. Pingback: Willie Nelson covers Coldplay for Chipotle | Essentials of Nutrition

  6. Pingback: Brown Bag: Grab n’ Go | NutritiousDaily

Leave a Reply

